Asam sahitya sabha - Oldest Assam association and its branches across India

Asam sahitya sabha or Assam literary society is the oldest Assam association and now have several branches in Assam and outside the state. See details about Asam Sahitya sabha, its formation, presidents, branches and contact details.

Asam Sahitya sabha is the oldest Assam association and was established in 1917 in Assam in order to promote culture and literature of Assam. Assam has always produced famous writers and poets.

If we look back before early 19th century Assam was ruled by Ahom and Kuch dynasty and in 1826 it became an integral part of India under British rule politically. Assam is a rich state in terms of literature and culture and the effort to popularize it many attempts were made and finally in 1917 Asam sahitya sabha was formed.

Assam sahitya sabha or Assam literary society also spelled as Axom Xahitya Xobha is the biggest organization in Assam. Every year annual conferences are held and and many renowned literates attend the conference and it is just like a big literary festival. The first conference of Asam Sahitya sabha was held in December 1917 under the presidentship of Padmanath Gohain Baruah. Since then it has been a continuous process and most literate person are elected as President. Recently in February 2011, 71st annual conference was organized at Bhasar Uja Hemchandra Barua Khetra, Dergaon in the district of Golaghat.

Presidents of Asam Sahitya sabha

Logo of Asam sahitya sabha
President of Asam Sahitya sabha is usually elected in annual conference. First President was Padmanath Gohain Baruah in 1917. After that 65 more literates held the post of President. At present Rongbong Terang is President of Asam Sahitya sabha and continuing for 2nd tenure. Kanak Sen Deka was the President for longest tenure and was elected for consecutive three years from 2005 to 2007. Dr Bhupen Hazarika famous Assamese singer was also President of Asam Sahitya sabha in 1993.

Branches and Contact details of Asam Sahitya sabha

At present Assam Sahitya sabha have several branches and it is estimated to be about 1000 branches in Assam and other states of India. Conferences and promotion of Assam literature is the main motto and its branches at Guwahati, Dibrugargh, Diphu, and Dhuburi are running successfully. Central office of Asam sahitya sabha is in Jorhat, Assam.

Address of Central office of Asam sahitya sabha
Asam Sahitya Sabha
Chandrakanta Handique Bhawan,
Jorhat, Assam PIN: 785 001

Phone no of Asam sahitya sabha - 0376 2320376
Official website of Asam sahitya sabha -


Author: Krishna Arandhara01 Jul 2012 Member Level: Silver   Points : 2

'Axom sahitya sabha' was established to promote assamese art,litarature and tradition. Earlier 'Axom sahitya sabha' was known as 'Axom unnati sadhini sabha', and it tried to develop assamese litarature. Laxminath Bezbaruah was a pioneer of it. Under the leadership of Sarat ch. Guswamee (who was 1st secratory of Axom sahitya sabha) 'Jorhat sahitya sabha' was established at Jorhat. In this plateform many scholars of Axom took decision to form an association for the greater interest of assamese literature which gave birth of Axom sahitya sabha.

Author: Manabendra Gogoi16 Aug 2012 Member Level: Silver   Points : 0

Thanks Namita for your article. Can you add the chronology of the Presidents of Axom Sahitya Sabha?

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: