Districts of Assam State

Do you want to know the Districts of Assam State? Article on the Assam State District's population, soil, weather and names of Assam districts.

Assam District's Population, Areas and The Headquarter Name

Assam State of India has total of 23-Districts. Here are the details of every district in term of Population, Total Area and the Headquarter of every district. Karbi-Anglong is the largest district of Assam with nearly 10,434 square kms of area; the second largest is 'Sonitpur' district, which is approximately half of the area of 'Karbi Anglong' district.

In spite of being the largest district of Assam, 'Karbi Anglong' is not at the top incase of population. 'Kamrup' district with 20 Lacs population is the top and 'Naogaon' approaching to 19 Lacs holds the second most populated district of Assam.

assam district


Author: Dilip24 Aug 2010 Member Level: Gold   Points : 2

Dear Andy, thaks a lot for creating this informative post. It is delightful to see districts with covering area, population and district headquarters all together. But one thing I would like to draw for your kind information that there are some other districts created so far which you may consider for inclusion in this post. The erstwhile Kokrajhar district does not exist now and instead, thereof four districts are created such as Kokrajhar, Baksa, Udalguri and Chirang. These have come into exist whenever BTAD formed. Again, erstwhile Kamrup district is divided into two now and thereof created Kamrup (Metro) and Kamrup (Rural). So far I know the above districts are created and you may like to see further details from the authentic sources available while you go for consideration my views. Thanks!

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: